RSS

2015 New Beginnings, Adventures and Excitement

02 Feb
2015 New Beginnings, Adventures and Excitement

Since my last post, many things changed. In no particular order: I am no longer in school, have a relatively new job at a new company, got married, live in the suburbs, released over 90 pounds and have two trouble-maker, spoiled cats.

What happened with school?

To be honest, I did not anticipate the amount of work doing a degree online entails. I thought a couple hours a night, supplemented with a few hours, even maybe eight hours weekends, that I would be able to handle the day job and homework. However, it took its toll! By the time I reached the last semester in my first year, I had to go on sick leave for a few months to recover enough to just get to the office. It seems silly now how I underestimated the work involved with school knowing my perfectionism and my passion for school; it is what it is. Despite the setback with my health for a few months, I have no regrets and given the same circumstances I would have made the same choice to go back to school. I’m halfway to my Bachelor’s Degree and hope sometime in the future, I will be able to finish the program. I am not there right now.

I went back to work gradually, part-time and built up to my full-time hours. It took a lot of aggressive rest therapy and also I started my journey to a healthier body weight. I was fortunate that I could  take the sick time I needed and still go back to my same job (Service Desk Analyst). It was a tough road and today I am in a much better physical and mental state.

New Beginnings

In May 2013, I met Gil through the matchmaking agency, It’s Just Lunch. The short story behind our romance is we were engaged in July 2013, I moved into his house in August 2013 and we were married February 14, 2014. Yes, our first wedding anniversary is around the corner!

In June 2014, I moved out of the oil and gas industry and into a financial institution world. I continue working with Information Technology, now as a Manager of ITSD (Information Technology Service Delivery) which equals managing the IT Administrative Support team. This career advancement allows me to explore a variety of new challenges including communication enhancement, process improvement and overall people management. It is exciting and I love working with this team at this company.

I am looking forward to an interesting year!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 2, 2015 in CFS, Coping, Family, Home Life, Social Life, Working Life

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “2015 New Beginnings, Adventures and Excitement

  1. Joanne

    February 2, 2015 at 9:28 PM

    You should be so very proud of yourself. You have taken the challenge and climbed a mountain doing so. Stay on top as long as you can!

    Like

     
  2. Marion Andrews

    February 3, 2015 at 6:28 AM

    You’ve come a long way and are on a great path for your success.

    Like

     

Leave a comment

  • Archives

  •